Rashtra Defence Academy

Pulitzer Prize Winners 2020 [Complete List]

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who had made his fortune as a newspaper publisher, and is administered by Columbia University. Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$15,000 cash award (raised from $10,000 in 2017). The winner in the public service category is awarded a gold medal.

Here is the full list of Pulitzer Prize winners from 2020. In the Defence Entrance Exams or other competitive exams like UPSC, CDS, NDA, AFCAT, TA, INET, NAVT AA/SSR, AIR FORCE (X/Y), and more, the question related to may be asked. So this will help you to improve your General Knowledge level.


  • Public service: The Anchorage Daily News, in collaboration with ProPublica
  • Breaking news reporting: The staff of the Louisville Courier-Journal
  • Investigative reporting: Brian M. Rosenthal, The New York Times
  • Explanatory reporting: The staff of The Washington Post
  • Local reporting: The staff of The Baltimore Sun
  • National reporting: T. Christian Miller, Megan Rose, and Robert Faturechi, Pro Publica and Dominic Gates, Steve Miletich, Mike Baker, and Lewis Kamb, The Seattle Times
  • International reporting: The staff of the New York Times
  • Feature Writing: Ben Taub, The New Yorker
  • Commentary: Nikole Hannah-Jones, The New York Times
  • Criticism: Christopher Knight, Los Angeles Times
  • Editorial writing: Jeffery Gerritt, Palestine Herald-Press
  • Editorial cartooning: Bary Blitt, The New Yorker
  • Breaking news photography: The photography staff of Reuters
  • Feature photography: Channi Anand, Mukhtar Khan and Dar Yasin, The Associated Press
  • Audio reporting: This American Life

Books, Drama & Music:

  • Fiction: The Nickel Boys, by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)
  • Drama: A Strange Loop, by Michael R. Jackson
  • History: Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America, by W. Caleb McDaniel
  • Biography: Sontag: Her Life and Work, by Benjamin Moser
  • Poetry: The Tradition, by Jericho Brown
  • General nonfiction: The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Time, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care, by Anne Boyer and The End of the Myth: From the Frontier to the Border Wall in the Mind of America, by Greg Grandin
  • Music: The Central Park Five, by Anthony Davis

Special Citation:

  • Ida B. Wells

Note: Three Indians Channi Anand, Mukhtar Khan, and Dar Yasin of The Associated Press got Pulitzer Prize for striking images captured during a communications blackout in Kashmir depicting life in the contested territory after India stripped it of semi-autonomy.

Also, See:

Scroll to Top